The bear facts: A local story goes viral, and speaks volumes about the state of broadcast news

The first week of June I attended the Canadian Communication Association Conference/Congress 2011 in Fredericton. There was a lot of interesting conversation and presentations on the future and current state of journalism. I myself did a presentation on how my research on participatory journalism had affected my work as a journalism teacher — but what everyone really wanted to talk about after I presented was the bear video I had used to demonstrate media logic. In fact, everyone I know has had such an interesting reaction to this video I decided to contact the reporter, and, later, write a piece about the story for J-Source.  What reaction to this video says about the state of broadcast media is somewhat frightening, the video itself is downright funny–although maybe not in the way intended.

Here’s the link to the J-Source article, where the reporter who did the story explains how the now infamous cut-out bear ended up in his piece.

One thought on “The bear facts: A local story goes viral, and speaks volumes about the state of broadcast news

Leave a Reply

