Why I love my blog

The hardest part of putting a story together isn’t figuring out what to put in, but what to leave out. That’s why I love my blog.

It’s the perfect home for all the interesting quotes/ideas that I can’t wedge into an article. Something I was reminded of as I was writing my latest piece for J-source on how journalism has changed since I graduated from Ryerson 20 years ago. Back in 1993, there was no opportunity to share what was left behind in the storytelling process. Now, I can showcase it on my blog.

Here’s what I left behind this time around.

Exploring journalism past and present, through Twitter I got in touch with two other grads from Ryerson’s j-school, the Calgary Herald’s Jason van Rassel and CBC’s Marivel Taruc. I asked them how they thought the industry as a whole had changed, as well as the everyday practice of their jobs. They both shared thought provoking answers that I only used snippets of. You can see their full responses here.

And a shout out to van Rassel for coughing up a pic of his 20-year-old Ryersonian press pass. I’d put the photo up if I hadn’t made him suffer enough–it’s the automatic thumbnail every time I post a link to the piece using social media.

While comparing journalism past and present I also wanted to use Elite Daily as an example of the type of site more traditional newsrooms should be looking at to get ideas.

Take the article “How the Baby boomers f*cked Us Out of Social Security,” for example. First off, it’s a catchy title. Secondly, it’s not a fluff piece. It’s well written and researched with great links.

Another favourite from the site, “Confessions of a Slut Shamer: Why I Hate Men Who Have Feelings,” is hysterical, but it also gives insight into societal norms surrounding communication and how modern relationships, particularly stereotypical roles of men and women, are changing.

I’m not saying Elite Daily is going to win a Pulitzer, but I found out about this site branded “The Voice of Generation Y” through a former student and this Gen-Xer keeps going back for more. If anyone knows of a Canadian equivalent I’d love to see it.

Michael Maclear (left) being interviewed at his book launch

Michael Maclear (left) being interviewed at his book launch

Finally, in the midst of working on the J-source piece I had the privilege to attend Michael Maclear’s latest book launch.

Maclear is a renowned journalist, best known for his work in Vietnam, who reminded me that as much as we talk about what should change in journalism, we need to remember a few things that shouldn’t: like our responsibility to share the truth.

Here’s an excerpt of my phone conversation with Maclear including his take on the dangers of Twitter. A note, he’s being somewhat facetious referring to the “golden age” of television news–that comment was made in response to an earlier question of mine about whether we wax poetic when it comes to journalism past.

And that’s why I love my blog:

  • I can show the full answers to my questions thus promoting transparency
  • I can share important information that doesn’t fit into more structured pieces
  • I can write whatever the hell I want, whenever the hell I feel like it

Every writer’s dream.

2 thoughts on “Why I love my blog

  1. Dear Nicole

    I found very interesting your thesis about Participatory Journalism. I am a journalist based in Spain at the moment, and as I said, this thesis is very inspirating. Thank you very much for sharing it on line.

    Sincerely
    M.

Leave a Reply

